In 2021 the Dikker & Thijs Hotel has been completely refurbished as a classic boutique style hotel.
It all started 125 years ago as the best place in Amsterdam for delicacies and wines and became an iconic place in Amsterdam for the best quality of food, drinks and hotel location.
The first Dikker & Co shop was founded in 1895 in Amsterdam by Fredrik Wilhelm Dikker and soon gained notoriety in the Netherlands for its high quality.
Henri Thijs became a partner in 1915 after being the assistant to the famous French chef Auguste Escoffier. They opened their first shop in the Kalverstraat.
In 1921, a new address was found for Dikker & Thijs. They moved to the current majestic building, situated on the corner of the Prinsengracht and Leidsestraat.
Here, they became famous for selling oysters, lobsters, and caviar.
The present owners of Dikker & Thijs took over in 1995. This happened exactly 100 years after Dikker & Thijs took over the business of J.C. van Laar in the Kalverstaat in 1895.
The 18th century former warehouse 'De Prins' has been fully renovated to make room for 10 classic styled rooms and suites. All rooms are characterized by their original wooden beams in the ceiling.
The main building dates fromv1915 and has a stunning view on the Leidsestraat and the Prinsengracht.
Read this article (in Dutch) about the great history of the Leidsestraat: