The first Dikker&Co shop was founded in 1895 in Amsterdam by Fredrik Wilhelm Dikker and soon became famous in the rest of Holland for its high quality. Henri Thijs became a partner in 1915 after being the assistant to the famous French chef Auguste Escoffier. They opened first shop in the Kalverstraat and in 1921 the majestic building situated on the corner of the Prinsengracht & Leidsestraat became the new address of Dikker & Thijs. Here they became famous for selling oysters, lobsters, and caviar.
The present owners of Dikker & Thijs took over of the hotel in 1995. This happened exactly 100 years after Dikker & Thijs took over the business of J.C. van Laar in the Kalverstaat. The 19th century former warheouse 'De Prins' is has been fully renovated to make space for ten classic styled room and suites. All rooms are characaterized by their original wooden beams in the ceiling. On the first flir you'll find our fitness area with a crosstrainer, treadmill, and a spinning bike. For meetings and events we have a private area available.
The main building dates from 1915 and has a stunning view on the Leidsestraat and the Prinsengracht. There are 31 rooms and suites accessable by elevator. The Penthouse, situated at the 6th floor, gives an unparalleled view of Amsterdam.